IT’S ABOUT THE PEOPLE


“What business are you in . . . really?” she asked with the hint of a smile in her voice. Her response to my nearly inaudible answer took me completely by surprise . . . just as she expected it would.

“The truth is, you’re in the people business, she continued, everything else is secondary.” A bit thrown off my game, I still managed a feeble reply. “Hmm, I see where you’re going, but . . . ” She interrupted, “It’s about the people!   Otherwise your focus is on the wrong target.” And you know what . . . she was right. Those four words said it all.

I wasn’t in the music business, the sales business, computer industry, the entertainment industry or any other business or industry if the people factor were omitted or neglected. And importantly, if people were left out of the equation, there wouldn’t be any business at all. Many others agree. For example: legendary educator and trumpeter, Herb Pomeroy, gave his version of the same concept. “In my early professional years, music was the most important thing. I came to realize that I was wrong. The people are the most important thing.”

One professional poker player had this to say: “Just playing cards with other people is for amateurs. To win as a professional, you must realize that you’re in the people business – while you’re playing cards. The more you know about people, the better your chances of winning.

I had one of those “whack on the side of the head” realizations that happen when you figure out something that you always knew – and this one was a gemstone! It boils down to this: If I am actively involved in the game of life – I’m in the people business. Period!

The subtle yet profound wisdom and broad implications of this concept had deeply personal yet universal applicability. Being in the “people business” meant that anything I could do to nurture, care for, or help others get along better in life would inevitably end up helping me as well.

As a starting point, applying this “people principle,” was as close as I could get to a guarantee of success. It provided an orientation for my thoughts, a clarification of my purpose and simplification of my actions and efforts, all in the direction of taking care of business where it really mattered.

Those four words, “It’s about the people!” made all the difference. I’m happy I was listening.

daniel w. jacobs

(c) 2006-2015, all rights reserved

About Daniel Jacobs

This is my personal blog site for writings about life and living, cognitions and bognitions, insights and outsights, rants and raves, prose and politics, economics, infonomics and exonomics, inter and outerpersonal relationships, artists, people and anything else that interests me.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment